Dollar Store Crafting – Book Page Halloween Treat Bags

Okay so now I am apparently addicted to the Dollar Tree and Dollar Store.  It’s amazing the things that you can find to craft with or to repurpose, and on the cheap (which is the best part).

I adore crafts created using vintage book pages, but for me I can’t bring myself to rip a page out of a vintage book.  My solution is the $1.00 book section at Dollar Tree. So I have several books sitting on my craft table, aka the previously known formal dinning room table, and came-up with the idea to create chic little Halloween party favor or treat bags using book pages!

Supplies – 3 book pages, black glitter card stock, paper, just twine and glue, and two hole punches. 

The adorable retro Halloween images I found, of course on the The Graphics Fairy blog, I copied the images and set them on different backgrounds using my basic word program, and punched those out with my 1 1/2″ punch, and set on scalloped edged black glittered card stock punches.  Creating the little bags was super simple by tearing out the pages, creating a clean edge and then folding over and gluing!  After they were dry I used a fancy scissors to cut a large scalloped edge on the top of each bag. I then punched a hole at the top of each bag and affixed each little tag with jute twine.  My bags came out measuring 4 1/4″ x 3″.

     
The Graphics FairyThe Girl Creative

Photobucket
  
 

Reduce, Reuse, Upcycle

25 thoughts on “Dollar Store Crafting – Book Page Halloween Treat Bags

  1. These are fantastic. I am absolutely in agreement about tearing up vintage books. It makes my heart go flip flop when I see wonderful old books torn up – but this is a brilliant solution!

  2. This is a great idea! I was looking to buy some small blank envelope/bags but like this idea much better! And I have several old books I can do this with. Now if only I can convince myself to pull them apart! lol

  3. Love it! Just found you on Pinterest! What a super idea! Our library has a shop where they sell gently used books for like a quarter! I am going to buy some and use these bags for our book club meeting favors!

  4. Love it! Just found you on Pinterest! What a super idea! Our library has a shop where they sell gently used books for like a quarter! I am going to buy some and use these bags for our book club meeting favors!

Leave a Reply

