Shabby Chic Button Jars

Now that I have my own craft space (also guest bedroom) I need to start getting a little more organized!  I have tons and tons of vintage and antique buttons and have been keeping them in baggies, really not very attractive.  I love old glass jars and ball jars, but those can be pretty expensive and I need a bunch.  So I went to my old stand by Dollar Tree and found these really cool retro sugar shakers! 
Of course I couldn’t just leave them plain.  I wanted to spray paint the lids but the weather won’t permit this for a while so I decided to decoupage the lids with black & while toile scrapbook paper that I already had on hand.

Next I thought I would decorate the glass jar portion and found these vintage button tags on the Graphics Fairy.  Copied and printed out on card stock and adorned with a vintage button.  Then wrapped some vintage lace around the jars and attached the button tags with kitcen twine.  Again a super… easy and inexpensive craft project.
Supplies: Sugar shakers, scrapbook paper, kitchen twine, vintage buttons, lace, card stock, Mod Podge
Happy Crafting!
Beth

40 thoughts on “Shabby Chic Button Jars

  1. What a great idea. I'm adding this to my list of organization bits to put in my craft room (on the list :-))

    Thank you so much for taking the time to join our Pin'Inspiration party this week. I'm hoping that you'll pop by tomorrow and share at my “Beat The Winter Blues” party. 🙂

  2. What a great idea. I'm adding this to my list of organization bits to put in my craft room (on the list :-))

    Thank you so much for taking the time to join our Pin'Inspiration party this week. I'm hoping that you'll pop by tomorrow and share at my “Beat The Winter Blues” party. 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing this…they look so adorable. I just make some up for myself. I still have my Grandmother's button collection. love the way you did them, they would look so nice on any shelf.

  4. Thanks for sharing this…they look so adorable. I just make some up for myself. I still have my Grandmother's button collection. love the way you did them, they would look so nice on any shelf.

  5. So beautiful.. THANKS SO MUCH again for linking up last week to Pin'Inspirational Thursday's.. YOU are FEATURED HAPPILY this evening.. Hope you can come by and snag a button.. LOVELY creative idea..It's pinned on my pin'board.. I adore it.. ;)) Thanks SO much again.. Wishing you an inspirational rest of week.. xoxo~ M

  6. So beautiful.. THANKS SO MUCH again for linking up last week to Pin'Inspirational Thursday's.. YOU are FEATURED HAPPILY this evening.. Hope you can come by and snag a button.. LOVELY creative idea..It's pinned on my pin'board.. I adore it.. ;)) Thanks SO much again.. Wishing you an inspirational rest of week.. xoxo~ M

  7. Hello, Its design is beautiful, I would try to realize it but I have not found on Graphic Fairy the vintage button tags. Can you help me? Thank you and nice day.
    Lucia

  8. Hello, Its design is beautiful, I would try to realize it but I have not found on Graphic Fairy the vintage button tags. Can you help me? Thank you and nice day.
    Lucia

Leave a Reply

