Vintage Lace Pendant Necklace DIY

vintaeg lace ribbon pendant charm diy

Oh…. I adore lace, most especially vintage and antique lace and recently purchased a large box vintage lace at an Estate Sale for my shop. There were mostly large rolls, but also so just bits and pieces of lace and didn’t want to throw them away and kept wracking my brain what to do with them, since I do not sew that does limit my crafting capabilities.

So being a jewelry crafter I came upon creating lace pendants or charms! And these are truly easy.
The supplies that I used are: vintage lace, muslin, wide ribbon, brass lace edge settings, thick card stock, tape, and a glue gun

First decide what fabric or ribbon base you want to use, I uses plain muslin on one and pink satin ribbon on the other.  Choose your size setting, I used very large brass lace edge settings that I had left over from a long ago project.

Measure and cut out the card stock base, then wrap the base fabric/ribbon, I held it down with bits of tape.  Then choose the placement of your lace and follow the same process as you did for the base fabric.

how to make the vintage lace cabochon
Now that is done, warm up your glue gun! Normally I do not use a glue gun to adhere items to brass settings, but since I used a card stock base my other jewelry glues would not work. Once the glue gun is ready simply place enough glue on the back, but not so much that it would run over the sides of the settings, glue your lace covered fabric into place.
Once this has dried you can now crimp down the sides of the lace edge settings, this will give the piece a nice finished edge, as well as helping to hold the lace disc in place.
vintage lace pendants brass lace edge settings
Now you are ready to simply attach to a necklace chain and there in about 30 minutes you have a unique and Shabby Chic necklace.vintage lace pendant neckalce tutorials
While I was making these I thought these would be adorable as Bridesmaids gifts using remnants of the Bride’s wedding lace!

As always thanks so much for stopping by and Happy Crafting!

Beth ,

Alyssabeths Vintage

We are partying here: Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s So Very Cheri, DIY Show Off, Show Me What You Got, Craft o Maniac, Sunday Showcase, Tip Me Tuesday, Treasure Box Tuesday, Catch a Glimpse Thursday, Whipperberry, Shabby Art Boutique, The Pin Junkie

One thought on “Vintage Lace Pendant Necklace DIY

Leave a Reply

